The best books…How many have you read?

Uncategorized

How many have you read?
This a list of the 100 best children’s books from the past 100 years. 

Take the quizzes below to see how many you’ve read!


Try the 100 Best Books 0-5 quiz

http://www.booktrust.org.uk/books/children/have-some-fun/quizzes/13


Try the 100 Best Books 6-8 quiz

http://www.booktrust.org.uk/books/children/have-some-fun/quizzes/16 


Try the 100 Best Books 9-11 quiz

http://www.booktrust.org.uk/books/children/have-some-fun/quizzes/15


Try the 100 Best Books 12+ quiz

http://www.booktrust.org.uk/books/teenagers/have-some-fun/quizzes/14

Buachaill ón Éirne / Boy from Erne

Uncategorized

I

Buachaill ón Éirne mé’s bhréagfainn féin cailín deas óg.

Ní iarrfainn bó spré léithe

tá mé féin saibhir go leor.

‘S liom Corcaigh ‘a mhéid é,

dhá thaobh a’ ghleanna ‘s Tír Eoghain.

‘S mura n-athraí mé béasaí

‘s mé n’ t-oidhr’ ar Chontae Mhaigh Eo.

II

Rachaidh mé ‘márach

a dhéanamh leanna fán choill

Gan choite, gan bád,

gan gráinnín brach’ ar bith liom

Ach duilliúr na gcraobh

mar éideadh leapa os mo chionn

‘S óró sheacht mh’anam déag thú

‘s tú ‘féachaint orm anall.

III

Buachailleacht bó, mo lao,

nár chleacht mise ariamh

Ach ag imirt ‘s ag ‘ol

‘s le hógmhná deasa fá shliabh

Má chaill mé mo stór

ní dóigh* gur chaill mé mo chiall

A’s ní mó liom do phóg

ná’n bhróg atá’r caitheamh le bliain.

English Translation:

I

I’m a boy from the Erne

and I could charm a nice young girl.

I would not ask for her wealth

as I am rich enough myself.

I own Cork, as big as it is,

two sides of the glen, and Tyrone.

And not to repeat myself,

I’m the heir of County Mayo.

II

I will go tomorrow

to make ale in the wood

Without a cot, without a boat,

without a pinch of gruel with me

But leaves of the branches

as bedclothes over my head

And O! good for you!

and you looking across at me.

III

A cowherd, my pet,

I’ve never been accustomed to be

But playing and drinking and (being)

with nice young women on the mountain

Even though I lost my wealth

it’s not as though I lost my senses

And your kiss is no more to me

now than a shoe worn for a year.
Tin Whistle Notes: 

B​A​B​A​ G​ E​D​D​  E​G​G​G

D​G​A​B ​C ​B​A​D’​D’​B​GB​A

D’​D’​B​A​G​ A​B​ C D’​E’​D’ B​G​A

G​A​B​A ​B​A​G​E ​D​D​E​G G​G 

Comic Strip Words:

Uncategorized

One of the most popular genres of books in our library are the graphic novels! Many of the class just can’t get enough of this type of book. We will be looking at some of the most popular on the shelves and choosing our own words. Next we will try and write out the word in bubble writing and decorate it!

Léigh sa Bhaile A:

Uncategorized

Léigh sa Bhaile A Rang I